Why I Started Peace in the Pod

Peace in the Pod

Happy new year! I hadn’t planned to post anything else until next week, but then I found the WordPress Zero to Hero challenge and decided to go for it. This is perfect timing and I can use all of the help I can get.

The Zero to Hero project is intended to pump life into old blogs and give new bloggers a running start toward building readership. The first assignment is to write a post introducing myself and my blog. You can find a brief introduction to who I am on my About Me page but read on for a more detailed discussion about what to expect from Peace in the Pod in the coming year.

Meet My Family

Superheros have a picnic

I am currently a stay at home mom with three awesome kids and the most amazing husband I could have ever found. I worked for state government for ten years, moving between a few different recruitment and placement jobs as my family grew and our situation required adjustments. I was blessed with wonderful co-workers and supervisors, but once Frankie was born, it became apparent that working outside the home and making the kids a priority was not going to work. Someone needed to be home with the kids, and that someone was me.

My husband is studying for his architectural registration exams and will soon be a registered architect. He has worked very hard to achieve this goal and I am so proud of him.

I’m not going to go into too much detail about the kids since they need at least a little privacy. For now, I’ll just say that even though they sometimes make me crazy, I am so blessed to have them. Clara, Will and Frankie are funny, loving, messy, loud and the loves of my life.

They also give me plenty of stories to share. For example, as I was in the process of writing this, Clara took an empty cracker box, taped a pot holder onto the bottom, filled it with snow, and brought it to me to eat. Not exactly my idea of an afternoon snack, but whatever.

Why Peace in the Pod?

I'm not sure what Belle did to deserve this.

I’m not sure what Belle did to deserve this.

So why did I start Peace in the Pod? My original motivation was to make a side income since I would soon be out of work. But as my plans grew, I realized that this was really my way of doing something for myself, something grown up that doesn’t involve changing diapers, refereeing fights, and doing dishes. I love my family but I also need something for myself.

There is so much chaos in our house. The kids are loud and messy and the dog is barking constantly. Nonetheless, we strive to find the peace of God within our family. We often fail but we keep trying. After realizing that this is a big theme in our lives, Peace in the Pod was born.

What to Expect This Year

In 2014, I am planning to bring you awesome content on family, faith, loving the frugal life, gardening, and preserving your harvest. I am also working on The Busy Mom’s Coupon Series. I am so excited about the first two posts in the series – my Quick Start Guide and No-Clip Coupon Options.

Another Plug for More Readers

If you are reading this directly from my website or from Pinterest and would like to get my posts by email, you can go to my homepage and look for the Follow button. I’d like to say that I’m offering a free ebook or printable planner to everyone who signs up, but that just wouldn’t be true. Hitting the publish button and hearing nothing is depressing, so I just have to hope that you will love my material and sign up of your own free will.

Do you have any topics you’d like me to cover over the next year? If so, leave a comment below and let me know!

About beckymaag

Hello and thank you for visiting Peace in the Pod! My name is Becky. I am a Catholic, a wife, a mother of three beautiful young children, and a child of God. I am imperfect but I am loved.
This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Why I Started Peace in the Pod

  1. I love your writing! I can’t wait to hear more from you. Great title too!

    Like

  2. Jodi McGough says:

    Great post! I am looking forward to reading your blog!! Best wishes!

    Like

  3. beckymaag says:

    Thank you both!

    Like

  4. Sasha says:

    Look at you getting started early, good for you! Can’t wait to read more 🙂

    Like

  5. Heidi D. says:

    Way to go, Becky!

    Like

  6. beckymaag says:

    Thanks Sasha and Heidi!

    Like

  7. Rose Snyder says:

    Looking forward to hearing more Becky! Love your blog name too!

    Like

  8. kenzelsfire says:

    Oh Becky, I hear you.
    This is the first post of yours I’ve read. I guess you some how happened upon mine and started following my blog almost a couple of weeks ago. Thank you, that was really nice. I saw the WordPress Zero to Hero Challenge (in passing) a while back but feeling like a “deer in the headlights” I am just trying to figure out how to make my page make sense! Now, I’m trying to figure out if I actually want to “enable” trackbacks/pingbacks. I’d actually just prefer to write 🙂
    -Kenzel

    Like

    • beckymaag says:

      Thanks for your comment, Kenzel! I think I found your blog because Good Graciousness nominated you for the Liebster Award. I really liked your theme. I’ve been doing a lot of experimenting with WordPress but I also bought Ruth Soukup’s ebook How to Blog for Profit without Selling Your Soul (that’s not a paid endorsement 🙂 ) It has been extremely helpful, especially with the technical stuff. I’m looking forward to reading more of your work!

      Like

      • kenzelsfire says:

        Hi Becky, I still have not done my part for the Liebster Award 😦 Sigh. Trying to focus on “homemaking duties,” purging, cleaning and the like…in addition to building the blog and learning twitter has kept me on my toes. And my reading consumption has suffered in the process!

        I just have to take last night’s blog entry to heart and recognize it’s all good in God’s time.

        Blessings,
        -Kenzel

        Like

      • beckymaag says:

        It sounds like we are in the same boat! I’m trying to balance family, home, the blog and reselling but it is not easy! I didn’t see your last post, but it sounds like something I need to hear.

        Like

A penny for your thoughts

