Look Back to Look Forward

Look Back to Look Forward

Welcome to the inaugural post on Peace in the Pod! I originally wrote a draft about planning goals for the new year. I let it simmer for about a week to see if felt right, then decided to scrap it and write this lovely piece instead. The original idea just didn’t feel authentic. Goal planning is great, but for this to work, I need to start it in my own way, in my own real-life language.

So instead of trying to motivate you, I’ve decided to take a look at a few of my memorable moments from the last year. Some wise person somewhere once said that to understand the present, you need to understand the past. So, without further ado, here are my top three picks from 2013:

My third child was born

Frankie in the Leaves

My sweet little guy. This was a rare moment with no leaves in the mouth.

Frankie has brought so much joy to our lives. His smile is so sweet and his heart is so big. I am really impressed with the change we have seen in Will since he became a big brother. This awesome task has really brought out his tender side. Clara was already a mother hen but she has also become a wonderful playmate for Frankie.

People don’t think they can have more kids because they are already too stressed, too tired, too cash-strapped. That was me until I saw with my own eyes how much happier we became became when Frankie was born. We’re still tired, stressed, and low on cash, but we all know that we are so loved.

I quit my job and am now a stay at home/blog at home mom

This was a huge step to take, especially since I’ve spent the last ten years working in a secure government job. It took many months of prayer to make this decision, but Husband and I decided that our family deserves more attention than we can give them when we both work. Besides, dragging three kids out the door at 6:45 am and not getting back until 5pm is exhausting. If one kid wasn’t throwing a fit, then another would be distracted or too tired to walk to the garage, or too cranky to sit in a playpen while we got ready. So here we are.

I started shopping at Aldi

It might seem odd to list this just below two big family moments. However, since lowering our grocery bill is one of the big factors that will allow me to stay home, this is important.

This is not a paid endorsement. I just really love Aldi. I’m planning to write a more detailed post on this, but for now I’ll just say this. While I love the savings and the no coupon policy (which saves me time), I really love the carts. There is something so satisfying about the pop of the quarter coming out of the little quarter holder when I’m leaving. Maybe I have a sensory issue, or maybe its just fun to have money thrown at me by a cold, inanimate object. Regardless, its the simple things, people.

Update: If you love saving money as much as I do, check out my Busy Mom’s Coupon Series. My Quick Start Guide and No-Clip Coupon Options posts are the first two installments in the series. More posts are coming soon!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you haven’t already signed up to receive my posts by email, visit my homepage and look for the Follow button in the upper right and lower left corners. If following me by email isn’t enough for you, you can also follow me on Pinterest. That’s where I take interesting things that people more creative than me have done and digitally stick them on a board. Really, that’s all Pinterest is. A bunch of pretty pictures that we bloggers hope will entice people to click through to our posts.

Thanks for reading through to the end. More posts on family, faith, saving money, gardening, and who knows what else will follow in the weeks ahead.

Happy New Year!

About beckymaag

Hello and thank you for visiting Peace in the Pod! My name is Becky. I am a Catholic, a wife, a mother of three beautiful young children, and a child of God. I am imperfect but I am loved.
This entry was posted in Family, Thriving on a Shoestring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

A penny for your thoughts

